Shiva Shanti Yoga Blog

Shiva Shanti Yoga by Felise Berman.

Shiva Shanti Yoga Manual by Felise Berman Founder Shiva Shanti Yoga, In my attempt to understand the deep philosophical system of Yoga I read and study continually, it has become a lifelong endeavor.  I began my teaching and healing work first in Buddhism, then moving into Metaphysics and [...]

Shavasana and Massage at Shiva Shanti Yoga School

Shiva Shanti Yoga - Shavasana There is nothing more thoughtful then a caring massage from a yoga teacher during shavasana as long as the teacher’s energy is clear and there is no misdirected sexual energy, yes, I said it! 99 percent of most yoga teachers are healers, [...]

Warrior Two – Virabhadra by Felise Berman©

Virabhadrasana Two — Warrior Two Pose. Vira means a hero, brave; Virabhadra is the name of a fierce mythical warrior created by Shiva. Feet:  Feet are a leg’s distance apart.  Front foot is facing forward, and back foot is slightly turned in.  All four corners of your feet pressed into the floor. Front heel intersects [...]

Qualities of a Shiva Shanti Yoga Teacher by Felise Berman©

As the director of Shiva Shanti Yoga, I feel all the teachers I train must imbibe these ideas. • Kindness – Kindness is the best quality for any teacher. • Integrity –We implement a high moral and ethical code in all our affairs. • Humility – All teachers understand they are there to serve. [...]

Get Certified 300 Hour Teacher Training E-RYT- Felise Berman E-RYT©

300 Hour Training Program at Shiva Shanti Yoga Continuing Education for Yoga Teachers E-RYT Shiva Shanti Yoga Est. 2008 Classes and Teacher Training 165 Park Ave, Rutherford NJ 07070 201.531.9642 The Benefit of joining Shiva Shanti Yoga Teacher Training is, you will be working with a school, teacher, and system to grow together [...]

Trikonasana Triangle Pose – The Inner Triad By Felise Berman©

Understanding Angles in Asana. Trikonasana - Triangle Pose. Trikona meaning triangle, and asana meaning posture or seat.  Author - Felise Berman Founder and Director of Shiva Shanti Yoga - If you look at an angle, it has no arrows, but it is still a ray, and goes on infinitely, only the angle, does not [...]

Swadhisthana – The Second Chakra, Ones own Abode By Felise Berman©

Sanskrit and English Name: Svadhisthana (also Swadhisthana,) = One’s Own Abode Second Chakra: The next major chakra within the chakra system is Swadhisthana chakra, located at the very end of the spinalccolumn directly above Mooladhara chakra. Swadhisthana chakra is said to be the director for the subconscious storing of past memories, feelings, and sensual impressions. It does [...]

Muladhara Chakra By Felise Berman©

Sanskrit and English: Name: moola = root, source + adhara = support, vital part. First Chakra: Mooladhara is the first major charka within the system, located slightly beyond the base of the spine at the pelvic floor. Mooladhara chakra is the most basic charkra as it is considered to represent our animal instincts and personalities. [...]

The Five Koshas a Gateway to Self by Felise Berman©

The five sheaths (pancha-koshas) are alluded to in the fourteen verses of the Atmabodha. Atma Bodha one of the finest treatises on the philosophy of Advaita Vedanta of Shankaracharya.   In this text Sankaracharya lucidly explains the nature of Self, the nature of the ignorance of the self, how it arises, and how to [...]