Yelp Reviews

 

Aylin, Freehold NJ 5 Star on Yelp 3/14/2017

What an amazing experience! I don’t do yoga regularly so I go if I can get a good deal from Groupon or LivingSocial. Shiva yoga was running a special on Groupon $25 for unlimited 30 days yoga. I signed up and got one for my mom! We went to a 6:30 pm class and had an amazing experience. They have metered street parking $1/ hour. The studio is on the second floor. Such a serene lovely space. They provide you with all the equipment since I don’t practice yoga regularly I did not have anything. The class ran for 1 hour 15 and we loved the instructor.  Nice facility, they offer multiple classes 7 days a week. I’m also posting their online schedule. I’m planning on signing up after my 30 days is up!

Erin H. East Rutherford, NJ, 5-star review on Yelp, 1/21/2017

I love this yoga school. The good energy just vibes off the walls in here. The classes are small, so you get focused attention from the instructors, and the room is very cozy. The addition of the 8 pm classes is awesome, so helpful to get to sleep! I love that the practice focuses on the movements of yoga and the philosophy and theory behind it. The instructors all care about their students, but they never make you feel less-than, even if it’s your first class. The school offers classes for the community in the park during the summer, which is how I became acquainted with it, so they’re also very community focused. I can’t recommend this school highly enough- and the price for unlimited classes is crazy good!

Linda T. Rutherford, NJ 2/23/2017

I discovered Shiva Shanti six years ago when I moved to Rutherford. I started through a Groupon offer and have been hooked ever since. Taking a class at Shiva Shanti is like pressing the reset button on your state of being. If you’re tired, stressed, have a scattered mind or are struggling in any way, you will leave class feeling so much better! Practicing at Shiva Shanti is the perfect antidote for both your body and mind. The teachers and instruction are wonderful. I highly recommend this yoga school.

Kay E., Lodi, NJ 5 star review on Yelp, 11/28/2016

I got a Groupon for this place and let me tell you this was my first ever yoga experience. EVER. I went with a friend who has been doing it for months now, and I have always wanted to try it out. For my first class, Simone was the instructor, and She was very attentive and helped me out without making me feel embarrassed that I couldn’t do most of the poses. I was very calm, and my muscles were very loose by the end of the session. I was hooked!

Sasha D.Bloomfield, NJ 4 star review on Yelp 9/19/2015

I bought a Groupon for Shiva Shanti. I enjoy this yoga studio. I’ve seen complaints about the dog, and I saw no problem with the dog. The cute puppy never barked and came to lick me once or twice but nothing too distracting (side note: this is coming from a cat lady). The reason I am rating 4 stars is that the earliest class is 9:30. Unfortunately, the classes don’t fit my schedule, so this is biased. But, I would assume others would like a morning yoga class before work? Other than that, the instructors are knowledgeable, spiritual, and take this practice far-reaching!  I would recommend Shiva Shanti, but make sure the schedule works for you!

Shannon W. Paramus, NJ Four Star Review from Yelp 4/16/2015

I bought the Groupon here for an unlimited month of yoga for $29. I’ve only done one class so far, but I really enjoyed it. I thought the teacher was amazing, she was very knowledgeable, personable and created a great atmosphere in the studio. The studio is a bit small (about the size of a 1 bedroom apartment), but I liked the setup, and I felt very comfortable the second I walked in. I liked the fact that they have blankets and blocks for you to use. Make sure you bring your own mat as I believe they charge you to use their mats. I’m excited to try more classes, I’m not super into yoga, but I walked out feeling very refreshed and with a clear mind. I think more people need to incorporate yoga into their lives!

Sarah P.Secaucus, NJ 5-star review on Yelp, 11/8/2015

I bought a Groupon to try this studio in the fall of 2012.  I have been attending ever since!  This is one of the best yoga studios around.  I recommend it to all of my friends and family.  There is something for everyone – no matter your experience level.  The instructors are very knowledgeable and kind.  There is a focus on the philosophy, and the instructors make an effort to honor the philosophy and educate during each class.  It really adds something unique to the overall experience of each session.  The space is a bit small, but the energy is calming and positive.  This is the real deal- opposed to yoga studios (or yoga classes at a gym) that try to make yoga all about the intense workout.  Give it a try.

Shelia 2-20-2015 YELP FIVE STAR

There is one thing that helps me keep my anxiety in control and helps me maintain a happy state of mind; Yoga. I recently bought this groupon for a yoga school not too far away from me; Shiv Shanti Yoga School in Rutherford, NJ. And believe me, I have been to a few yoga classes and tried quiet some many of them, even the ones that have 4 star ratings and more but this little place struck a chord within me right from day 1. Because I didn’t want to jump to any conclusions I decided to wait for some time before writing about it just so I could allow some time to go by and see if my opinion changes. But here I am, after 3 years of first trying this place out I am still so convinced that this place is far superior in its practices and teaching than any other place I have been to in the last 5 years. No, I haven’t been a member of theirs in a long time now but each time I try to take a yoga class in my fitness center, I go back to how much I loved and enjoyed Yoga at this Centre. Yoga is about patience. It is about completing a pose, holding it and breathing in it so that your body can recognize this stretch, movement and form to adapt to it. Not quite like the many other classes I have attended where it is all about getting into the pose and then before u can allow your body to absorb it, it is time to get on to the next. I liked the integration of breathing and stretching, the alignment and the flow that was taught at this school. Every instructor is knowledgeable. They don’t rush you. They correct you. Time and again and allow you time to get into the flow. Their meditation classes are unmissable and are conducted by Felise (Shivadasi) Berman; who is also the founder of this school and has lived in an ashram in India for a few years before heading back here and starting with this Centre. The music played during each class is unique to its instructor and the music enables you to perform your best. It helps you push the limit and go beyond to test yourself, your patience and your body; but being gentle at the same time. They start and end their classes with a note of thanks and gratitude. They ask you to dedicate your workout to an intention in your heart, they tell you to worship your body and give it thanks. This is not just any yoga class. This is a place where you learn about yourself, spiritually as well as physically. They help you recognize your limitations and soothe your soul. These classes help bring your mind, body and soul in connection with each other; which in my opinion is true yoga practice. The light within me bows to the light in you. Namaste.– S.

1/18/2015  Yelp

It’s been almost a year since I’ve been attending Shiva Shanti Yoga School and it has been my spiritual home. After an intense family tragedy (the death of my sister) and struggling with this for a year, i decided to honor her through something that has always felt grounding and connected to my spirit, but was something i had strayed from for a few years.  I had studied various styles of yoga since 1995 including Iyengar, Hatha, Istha, a little Jivamukti and Birkram. But teachers come and go and locations change. When I started at Shiva Shanti it had been 3 years since my last yoga class. I walked into the room and felt at home. The environment is warm, sacred, welcoming. Felise was teaching and i liked her energy. The topic of the month was Devotion and i thought i would cry as we started Surya Namaskar (sun salutation). After that she taught a challenging class, but was supportive of beginner students offering advice about modifications and using props (which i loved about the Iyengar style). That was a very good day for me and after that I took classes with different teachers exploring the differences and gifts each had to offer.

Shelia R. 2013

I recommend this school to anyone who wants to feel the physical aspect of yoga as well as learn the philosophy. Breath work and meditation are also part of the practice here. The students are very respectful here and unlike other studiosi have studied in where you feel judged, i have never felt this at Shiva Shanti. This is a simple yet sacred space with an organic vibe. I have been practicing yoga for 30 years and with many highly respected teachers. In my experience, Felise is my clear favorite, for several reasons. Malcolm Gladwell in his best-selling book “Outliers: the story of Success,” says the key to success in any field is to practice a task 10,000 times. Felise has “lived” yoga for every minute of her adult life, and her 10,000 hours of practice shows in the smoothness with which she blends her asanas, and the wholeness of her sessions, from opening one’s self at the beginning, through a challenging and sometimes strenuous middle, and finally a peaceful conclusion. The end experience is you felt invigorated and centered in mind and body.  Felise has a beautiful and soothing voice that enhances and complements the message of love and peace she generously shares with us from a true heart of compassion. Felise’s classes are world class in every way, an opinion shared by her many happy students who come back to her for more, year after year. To complete the entire picture, Shiva Shanti Yoga School perfectly reflects the way Felise practices, teaches and lives her life.

Groupon Reviews

August 05, 2013 I like the variety and number of classes offered 7 days a week.

May 05, 2013 I love the school and instructors are great!

I love how hands on all the instructors are. They really want everyone to enjoy the class.

May 05, 2013 Thank you all for teaching us not just yoga moves but a deeper understanding.

April 24, 2013 If you are looking to practice yoga, this is the place to go. It is nothing like practicing yoga in a gym setting. It is so peaceful and all of the instructors are extremely helpful. It truly is an amazing facility.

March 21, 2013 Classes great instructor’s good overall great yoga classes.

March 21, 2013 would recommend Shiva Shanti Yoga School for the “yogi-people” as well as for beginners.

February 27, 2013 excellent school with compassionate teachers!

Living Social

Bergen County – 10/16/2013

Very kind people. Would love to go back.

Facebook

Sinari Savani  5 star May 13, 2015 ·Beautiful yoga studio and great teachers!! I love going there for yoga.

5 star March 12, 2014 ·Great vibe! 🙂

Mariangela-Immacolata Ferrara  5 star September 18, 2016 ·Took a class with a Teresa with my father and mother in laws and my husband and T was awesome!! Plan on taking more classes with my family! Love it! Thank you!

Priya Swaminathan 5 star May 15, 2015 ·Shiva Shanti Yoga School is my happy place to go too. It is where I learned to let go and be free. The atmosphere is very soothing and energizing. I love it and wish I had known about the studio earlier than when I did, which is almost three years ago. All the teachers have something different to give and that is so beautiful. Thanks Felise for creating a haven in our community.

Lisa Dfitness  5 star June 2, 2016 ·I began taking classes at Shiva Shanti about 1 month ago and it has been a great experience. The instructors are educated and well trained. I love that I am learning about the full practice & not just the physical aspects.
Krystle Ortiz 5 star January 28, 2016 ·Such an amazing yoga studio! It gets me to relax, open up and let go while learning the art of yoga. All the teachers are amazing as well and very helpful!
Mindra Sahadeo 5 star May 1, 2016 ·Great studio…wonderful owner and teachers…..Namaste.
Terri Campbell  5 star September 30, 2014 ·Feeling Rejuvenated and Blessed after class today with Mary……Thank You…..Mary…
Toni-Ann Accardi 5 Star May 28, 2014 My happy place! Besides the amazing owner and teachers, the atmosphere is my favorite. The feeling you get when you enter, the lighting, the plants, the colors on the walls, and the tin ceiling. I can feel all of my worries melt away as I get more in touch with who I am and how my body supports me. Thank you, Felise, for making and keeping Shiva Shanti as a safe haven and a place for personal, emotional, spiritual, and physical growth.

Student Reviews

9/3/2013 Carolina G. Englewood Cliffs, NJ

I met Felise many years ago teaching at Bally’s of Englewood Cliffs. She was basically my first connection to Yoga in a more experimental than rational way; her class was always energetic and well directed, filled with profound messages between poses and in the midst of that sweaty crowd I started to find that alignment within me and began subtlety to recognize myself, to really understand Yoga. For this I thanked Felise’s dedication as a teacher, generosity transmitting the knowledge, and openness with her own practice.

A year ago I had the opportunity to join Shiva Shanti, Felise’s Yoga studio and at not surprise to me the classes in the studio contained the same qualities, if not better carried by very well chosen instructors. Even though my practice has been more behind the scenes, due to time constrains, I will always remember how this journey began.  P.S I love Buddha, I think is a great component to the class… Diversity 🙂  Shiva Shanti Yoga in Rutherford, NJ is a top notch yoga studio with a complete class schedule that runs seven days a week, and a talented group of motivated teachers that are genuinely caring and highly skilled in Vinyasa flow and the full range of yoga asanas.

Theresa C. Lyndhurst, NJ 9/3/2013

The studio has a special energy that nurtures the individual student and allows one to expand their practice at their own pace.  The studio is always clean and inviting, and its simple setting — with hardwood floors, plants, and a zen decor — creates a sacred space that feels peaceful and loving.   Felise (Shiva Dasi) Berman, founder of Shiva Shanti Yoga, brings a wealth of yoga philosophy knowledge and teaching experience to the studio’s full curriculum. She is dedicated to sharing her extensive yoga background with her students and is committed to the continued professional development of her extraordinary faculty members.  Felise is bright, beautiful, and a deeply caring leader. She is an inspiration to all yogis, both young and old, and at every technical level, from the most advanced yoga practitioner to the complete beginner.

I’ve been a student at Shiva Shanti Yoga since it’s inception, taking on average three classes per week.  It’s been such a fulfilling experience that I recently completed the Shiva Shanti 200-hour teacher training program.  I love this studio and continue to grow in mind, body and spirit from all that Shiva Shanti has to offer. Thank you Shiva Dasi.

Lori O. Lyndhurst, NJ 9/3/2013

Shiva Shanti Yoga studio has become my second home, Shivadasi(Felise)a good friend and teacher. My practice has taken me through many changes and each teacher a stepping stone in the development of my practice eight years in the making (spiritually, physically mentally and emotionally). I started my practice due to scoliosis surgery that I had at the age of thirteen to help my mobility and flexibility I’m 46 now, if I knew then what I know now!!!Fast forward to three family member deaths one in 2009, 2010 and 2011 and eight months after the passing of my Mom I lost my job after eleven year’s. Felise my teacher became my friend to lend a shoulder, and gave me a place to occupy my time( the studio) by registering classes and being able to continue my practice. If there was ever a time that I needed something or place in life it was now, I don’t know how else I would have gotten through all that I did without Felise and her yoga studio.  I was also able to see fellow students grow in to yoga instructors and got to practice yoga with a little dog by the name of Buddha.  So I want to say THANK YOU Felise and to ALL of your yoga teachers both past and present for helping me through this journey of mine called life. Namaste.

9/3/2013

I love Shiva Shanti Yoga School! At Shiva Shanti I’ve found a place not only to practice yoga asana but to learn about the many different paths and practices of yoga. The owner Felise is truly a great and giving person.  She has really created a great community at Shiva Shanti with knowledgeable and dedicated teachers. This is a great studio and I would recommend it to anyone!

Leslie G. Caldwell, NJ 9/2/2013

I like this cute yoga studio. It is very cozy and the energy is great. This is not your average commercialized yoga class. Here you can learn about the philosophy of yoga, learn how gurus view the world and how they practice yoga. Guests come from all over the world to share their knowledge with anyone who would be interested in becoming part of this community. Also, there are musicians who would travel long distances to come and share their music. If you would like to become a yoga teacher yourself, you are able to take the course at the studio. I know when I see something special, and this is it.  Thank you Felise:) – She is the owner of the yoga studio.

I had always enjoyed yoga for a very long time, but when I met Felise Berman about 10 years ago (the owner of Shiva Shanti) she made me LOVE yoga.  Of all the classes and instructors I’ve had, Felise was and is the BEST.  She lives and breathes her practice, and her passion is contagious.  My best years of yoga practice have been with her.  Her class and amazing instruction took me to places in my yoga practice, which I could never have achieved without her.  She connects not only to your physical body, but to your mind and soul too.  Besides being a great instructor, she is a caring and compassionate human being (with people and animals alike).  Her studio is pleasant and peaceful and and creates an uplifting yet calming atmosphere to practice along with a talented staff of instructors. The studio offers a wide array of classes and levels to choose from, as well as frequently offered special classes, instructors and seminars. If you are looking for a quality yoga studio with a caring staff, Shiva Shanti is the place to be…I highly recommend it.

Maplewood, NJ 9/3/2013

I love Shiva Shanti Yoga School! At Shiva Shanti I’ve found a place not only to practice yoga asana but to learn about the many different paths and practices of yoga. The owner Felise is truly a great and giving person.  She has really created a great community at Shiva Shanti with knowledgeable and dedicated teachers. This is a great studio and I would recommend it to anyone!

Gabriella Z. Saddle Brook, NJ 9/3/2013

I like this cute yoga studio. It is very cozy and the energy is great. This is not your average commercialized yoga class. Here you can learn about the philosophy of yoga, learn how gurus view the world and how they practice yoga. Guests come from all over the world to share their knowledge with anyone who would be interested in becoming part of this community. Also, there are musicians who would travel long distances to come and share their music. If you would like to become a yoga teacher yourself, you are able to take the course at the studio. I know when I see something special, and this is it.  Thank you Felise:) – She is the owner of the yoga studio.

Tuesday, September 03, 2013

I had always enjoyed yoga for a very long time, but when I met Felise Berman about 10years ago (the owner of Shiva Shanti) she made me LOVE yoga.  Of all the classes and instructors I’ve had, Felise was and is the BEST.  She lives and breathes her practice, and her passion is contagious.  My best years of yoga practice have been with her.  Her class and amazing instruction took me to places in my yoga practice, which I could never have achieved without her.  She connects not only to your physical body, but to your mind and soul too.  Besides being a great instructor, she is a caring and compassionate human being (with people and animals alike).  Her studio is pleasant and peaceful and creates an uplifting yet calming atmosphere to practice along with a talented staff of instructors.  The studio offers a wide array of classes and levels to choose from, as well as frequently offered special classes, instructors and seminars.  If you are looking for a quality yoga studio with a caring staff, Shiva Shanti is the place to be…I highly recommend it.

Joey N. Fort Lauderdale, FL 9/2/2013

I met Felise Berman while going to Ballys gym.  There was a class of hundreds there, I wish I was able to be in a smaller atmosphere like her business is, yet still she took the time to always give me attention.  I studied with her for about a year and loved her style and musical choices.    Anyone who gets her is in good hands!

Kristy S. Hasbrouck Heights, NJ 9/2/2013

I have been practicing yoga at Shiva Shanti for a little over a year now, and couldn’t be happier! The teachers are very inspirational and knowledgeable. They are accommodating and modify according to your level. The studio has a calming, zen vibe to it. You walk in and feel relaxed and at peace. There are a variety of classes to take. Any class you decide on will be taught by a teacher who is more than willing to modify and adjust accordingly.  Shivadasi is wonderful. She is very welcoming and full of knowledge. She has a lot of patience and will work with you to help start or advance your yoga practice. Whether you are an advanced yogi or a beginning practitioner, this studio welcomes all. No matter what is going on in my day or life, once I’m on my mat at Shiva Shanti, all is ok 🙂

Mona K.  Beach Haven, NJ 9/2/2013

I have watched Felise Berman create her vision for Shiva Shanti Yoga School. She is kind considerate, hardworking and loves every person she serves at her school. Her tireless efforts to train teachers and invest in the local community is unwavering. She is committed to her growth, the growth of the studio and most importantly every student she meets. I think you must meet her before you read the reviews posted here. She is a beautiful person.

Ken M. Cresskill, NJ. 08/19/2013

I have known Felise Berman now for about 7 years and she has been my Yoga teacher for that period of time. Felise is such a passionate, caring individual and a great teacher. The Sessions were always a challenge and I felt great afterwards. She has gone past the norm for a yoga teacher and has studied abroad for a while also. She is always thinking of creative ways to teach and introducing special guests to her students. I wish Felise the best of luck in the future and much success in her passion and drive for what she has excelled at. I would highly recommend taking a class and experience the peace and relaxation.

Marilyn M. Rutherford, NJ

I love Shiva Shanti Yoga School!!….and believe me I never dreamed I would ever have become a yoga student…..those who don’t know about it should give it a try…once you do you will be hooked!!  And for those who only viewed yoga as doing bends that look hard to do need to know about the breath and movement connection. I never knew this until I took my first class. Yoga Nidra…Restorative Yoga my FAVORITE…and all your beginner levels ….along with owner/teacher Felice B.’s giving HEART and experienced instructors whose wish is to include all people no matter age, weight or fitness level….yep that means me…58 years old and starting yoga for the first time in her life…and loving every second of it! (And the prices are great too) 😉

I signed up with a groupon for an unlimited month when i was visiting my boyfriend nearby. i went 4-5 times a week for 3 weeks. The setting is beautiful it is the upper floor of an old brownstone; high ceilings and hardwood floors.

Tierney V. Gypsum, CO 8/5/2013

The instructors were all consistently great. I would highly recommend this studio. Amazing experience! S. P. New York, NY 8/5/2013